Head to head · unusually close flavour match
Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond vs Wild Turkey 101
No flavour axis separates them, so the difference on record is disclosure: Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond states 4 years, Wild Turkey 101 states no age.
Compiled by WhiskeyCask Editorial · Last verified 2026-07-30
Specifications side by side
| Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond | Wild Turkey 101 | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Rye | Bourbon |
| Origin | Kentucky, United States | Kentucky, United States |
| Age | 4 years | No age statement |
| Strength | 50% ABV | 50.5% ABV |
| Cask | New charred oak barrel | New charred American oak |
| Bottle | 750 ml | 700 ml |
| RRP observed | £32 | £32 |
| Per 10cl | £4.27 | £4.57 |
| Per litre of alcohol | £85 | £91 |
| Chill-filtered | Not stated | Not stated |
What separates them
Both Kentucky whiskies, from different distilleries.
Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond is a rye, Wild Turkey 101 a bourbon.
Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond states 4 years; Wild Turkey 101 states none.
Cask as each producer describes it: Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond in new charred oak barrel, Wild Turkey 101 in new charred american oak.
Neither states chill filtration.
Wild Turkey 101: specifications not yet producer-confirmed.
What the price buys
Both last observed at £32.
Different bottle sizes, 750 ml against 700 ml, so per 10cl it is £4.27 against £4.57.
Across the 32 bottles we can cost this way, Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond is the cheapest and Wild Turkey 101 2nd cheapest.
Flavour, compared
View as table
| Axis | Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond | Wild Turkey 101 |
|---|---|---|
| Peaty | 0 | 0 |
| Sweet | 5 | 6 |
| Fruity | 4 | 4 |
| Spicy | 9 | 8 |
| Woody | 6 | 7 |
| Sherried | 1 | 1 |
| Cereal | 4 | 4 |
| Oily | 7 | 8 |
No axis reaches the 3-point gap we call meaningful. Widest is sweet, 5 against 6.
Identical on peaty, fruity, sherried and cereal.
Each bottle in its own right
Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond
Sharp rye spice and cinnamon at 100 proof. The bartender's rye, and rightly so.
Bottled-in-Bond legally requires exactly 100 proof and at least four years in a federally supervised warehouse, so the 4-year figure may be the statutory floor rather than a distinct age statement. It also keeps the Scottish spelling 'whisky' despite being Kentucky rye.
Full record →Wild Turkey 101
Big vanilla, rye spice and heat. The best value proof-per-pound in bourbon.
Full record →Both listed for cocktails and value; only Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond for manhattan; only Wild Turkey 101 for boulevardier.
Where these specifications come from
Producer and retailer pages for Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond and Wild Turkey 101: heavenhilldistillery.com, wildturkeybourbon.com. Figures are what those pages published when we last checked them, on 2026-07-30.