Head to head · same category, comparable price
High West Double Rye! vs Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond
No flavour axis separates them, so the difference on record is disclosure: Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond states 4 years, High West Double Rye! states no age.
Compiled by WhiskeyCask Editorial · Last verified 2026-07-30
Specifications side by side
| High West Double Rye! | Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Rye | Rye |
| Origin | Utah, United States | Kentucky, United States |
| Age | No age statement | 4 years |
| Strength | 46% ABV | 50% ABV |
| Cask | Not disclosed | New charred oak barrel |
| Bottle | 750 ml | 750 ml |
| RRP observed | £38 | £32 |
| Per 10cl | £5.07 | £4.27 |
| Per litre of alcohol | £110 | £85 |
| Chill-filtered | No | Not stated |
What separates them
Both from United States: High West Double Rye! from Utah, Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond from Kentucky.
Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond states 4 years; High West Double Rye! states none.
Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond lists new charred oak barrel. High West Double Rye! publishes no cask detail at all.
Chill filtration: High West Double Rye! is not, Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond does not say.
What the price buys
High West Double Rye! is £6.00 dearer a bottle than Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond.
Strength keeps that ordering: £85 a litre of pure alcohol for Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond against £110.
Across the 32 bottles we can cost this way, High West Double Rye! is 8th cheapest and Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond the cheapest.
Flavour, compared
View as table
| Axis | High West Double Rye! | Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond |
|---|---|---|
| Peaty | 1 | 0 |
| Sweet | 5 | 5 |
| Fruity | 4 | 4 |
| Spicy | 9 | 9 |
| Woody | 5 | 6 |
| Sherried | 2 | 1 |
| Cereal | 4 | 4 |
| Oily | 6 | 7 |
No axis reaches the 3-point gap we call meaningful. Widest is peaty, 1 against 0.
Identical on sweet, fruity, spicy and cereal.
Each bottle in its own right
High West Double Rye!
Mint, dill and pepper. Two ryes of different ages married, and it tastes like it.
High West discloses two distinct mash bills — a sourced 95% rye / 5% malted barley and its own 80% rye / 20% malted rye — but gives no component ages, so the 'two ryes of different ages' claim is never quantified.
Full record →Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond
Sharp rye spice and cinnamon at 100 proof. The bartender's rye, and rightly so.
Bottled-in-Bond legally requires exactly 100 proof and at least four years in a federally supervised warehouse, so the 4-year figure may be the statutory floor rather than a distinct age statement. It also keeps the Scottish spelling 'whisky' despite being Kentucky rye.
Full record →Both listed for cocktails; only High West Double Rye! for rye curious; only Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond for manhattan and value.
Where these specifications come from
Producer and retailer pages for High West Double Rye! and Rittenhouse Straight Rye Bottled-in-Bond: ship.highwest.com, heavenhilldistillery.com. Figures are what those pages published when we last checked them, on 2026-07-30.