Head to head · same category, comparable price
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old vs Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select
No flavour axis separates them, so the difference on record is disclosure: Eagle Rare 10 Year Old states 10 years, Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select states no age.
Compiled by WhiskeyCask Editorial · Last verified 2026-07-30
Specifications side by side
| Eagle Rare 10 Year Old | Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Bourbon | Bourbon |
| Origin | Kentucky, United States | Kentucky, United States |
| Age | 10 years | No age statement |
| Strength | 45% ABV | 45.2% ABV |
| Cask | New charred American oak | New charred American oak |
| Bottle | 700 ml | 700 ml |
| RRP observed | £42 | £38 |
| Per 10cl | £6.00 | £5.43 |
| Per litre of alcohol | £133 | £120 |
| Chill-filtered | Not stated | Not stated |
What separates them
Both Kentucky whiskies, from different distilleries.
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old states 10 years; Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select states none.
Both matured in new charred american oak; nothing further disclosed.
Neither states chill filtration.
What the price buys
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old is £4.00 dearer a bottle than Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select.
Strength keeps that ordering: £120 a litre of pure alcohol for Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select against £133.
Across the 32 bottles we can cost this way, Eagle Rare 10 Year Old is 15th cheapest and Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select 9th cheapest.
Flavour, compared
View as table
| Axis | Eagle Rare 10 Year Old | Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select |
|---|---|---|
| Peaty | 0 | 0 |
| Sweet | 7 | 6 |
| Fruity | 6 | 5 |
| Spicy | 5 | 6 |
| Woody | 7 | 6 |
| Sherried | 1 | 1 |
| Cereal | 4 | 4 |
| Oily | 6 | 6 |
No axis reaches the 3-point gap we call meaningful. Widest is sweet, 7 against 6.
Identical on peaty, sherried, cereal and oily.
Each bottle in its own right
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old
Toffee, orange peel and dry oak. Excellent at RRP, poor value at what it usually sells for.
Contrary to a widely repeated claim, the 10-year age statement has never been removed — it moved from the neck to the back label in a 2012 redesign, and 'Single Barrel' was dropped when bottling was automated. Eagle Rare 12 launched in June 2025 as a separate SKU, which is the likely source of the confusion. Allocated in the US; the UK is not similarly constrained.
Full record →Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select
Dried fruit, mint and cocoa. Rounder and less sweet than most at the price.
Woodford is the rare Kentucky bourbon distilled in copper pot stills. The 45.2% we list is the producer's own figure (90.4 proof); a 43.2% UK/EU bottling is widely reported but we could not verify it on any producer or retailer page. Despite common belief, Woodford publishes no mash bill percentages anywhere.
Full record →No overlap in what we list them for: Eagle Rare 10 Year Old for sipping neat, Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select for mint julep and cocktails that need body.
Where these specifications come from
Producer and retailer pages for Eagle Rare 10 Year Old and Woodford Reserve Distiller's Select: buffalotracedistillery.com, woodfordreserve.com. Figures are what those pages published when we last checked them, on 2026-07-30.
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old is allocated in most markets, so the RRP above and the price you can actually pay are usually different.