Head to head · same category, comparable price
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old vs Four Roses Small Batch
No flavour axis separates them, so the difference on record is disclosure: Eagle Rare 10 Year Old states 10 years, Four Roses Small Batch states no age.
Compiled by WhiskeyCask Editorial · Last verified 2026-07-30
Specifications side by side
| Eagle Rare 10 Year Old | Four Roses Small Batch | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Bourbon | Bourbon |
| Origin | Kentucky, United States | Kentucky, United States |
| Age | 10 years | No age statement |
| Strength | 45% ABV | 45% ABV |
| Cask | New charred American oak | New charred oak barrel |
| Bottle | 700 ml | 700 ml |
| RRP observed | £42 | £34 |
| Per 10cl | £6.00 | £4.86 |
| Per litre of alcohol | £133 | £108 |
| Chill-filtered | Not stated | Not stated |
What separates them
Both Kentucky whiskies, from different distilleries.
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old states 10 years; Four Roses Small Batch states none.
Cask as each producer describes it: Eagle Rare 10 Year Old in new charred american oak, Four Roses Small Batch in new charred oak barrel.
Neither states chill filtration.
Colour: Eagle Rare 10 Year Old silent, Four Roses Small Batch natural colour.
What the price buys
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old is £8.00 dearer a bottle than Four Roses Small Batch.
Strength keeps that ordering: £108 a litre of pure alcohol for Four Roses Small Batch against £133.
Across the 32 bottles we can cost this way, Eagle Rare 10 Year Old is 15th cheapest and Four Roses Small Batch 7th cheapest.
Flavour, compared
View as table
| Axis | Eagle Rare 10 Year Old | Four Roses Small Batch |
|---|---|---|
| Peaty | 0 | 0 |
| Sweet | 7 | 6 |
| Fruity | 6 | 5 |
| Spicy | 5 | 7 |
| Woody | 7 | 6 |
| Sherried | 1 | 1 |
| Cereal | 4 | 4 |
| Oily | 6 | 6 |
No axis reaches the 3-point gap we call meaningful. Widest is spicy, 5 against 7.
Identical on peaty, sherried, cereal and oily.
Each bottle in its own right
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old
Toffee, orange peel and dry oak. Excellent at RRP, poor value at what it usually sells for.
Contrary to a widely repeated claim, the 10-year age statement has never been removed — it moved from the neck to the back label in a 2012 redesign, and 'Single Barrel' was dropped when bottling was automated. Eagle Rare 12 launched in June 2025 as a separate SKU, which is the likely source of the confusion. Allocated in the US; the UK is not similarly constrained.
Full record →Four Roses Small Batch
Red fruit and rye spice, cleanly made. One of the few bourbons that tells you its recipe.
Four Roses is one of the very few American distillers to publish actual mash bills: this blends recipes B (60% corn / 35% rye / 5% barley) and E (75% / 20% / 5%). Its single-storey rack warehouses vary only about 8°F from top rack to bottom.
Full record →No overlap in what we list them for: Eagle Rare 10 Year Old for sipping neat, Four Roses Small Batch for value, cocktails and transparency.
Where these specifications come from
Producer and retailer pages for Eagle Rare 10 Year Old and Four Roses Small Batch: buffalotracedistillery.com, fourrosesbourbon.com. Figures are what those pages published when we last checked them, on 2026-07-30.
Eagle Rare 10 Year Old is allocated in most markets, so the RRP above and the price you can actually pay are usually different.