Head to head · same category, comparable price
Aberlour A'bunadh vs The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old
No flavour axis separates them, so the difference on record is disclosure: The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old states 12 years, Aberlour A'bunadh states no age.
Compiled by WhiskeyCask Editorial · Last verified 2026-07-30
Specifications side by side
| Aberlour A'bunadh | The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old | |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Single malt | Single malt |
| Origin | Speyside, Scotland | Highland, Scotland |
| Age | No age statement | 12 years |
| Strength | Not published | 43% ABV |
| Cask | Oloroso sherry butt | Pedro Ximénez sherry cask, Oloroso sherry cask |
| Bottle | 700 ml | 700 ml |
| RRP observed | £70 | £52 |
| Per 10cl | £10 | £7.43 |
| Per litre of alcohol | — | £173 |
| Chill-filtered | Not stated | Not stated |
What separates them
Both from Scotland: Aberlour A'bunadh from Speyside, The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old from Highland.
The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old states 12 years; Aberlour A'bunadh states none.
Cask as each producer describes it: Aberlour A'bunadh in oloroso sherry butt, The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old in pedro ximénez sherry cask and oloroso sherry cask.
Neither states chill filtration.
Colour: Aberlour A'bunadh silent, The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old natural colour.
What the price buys
Aberlour A'bunadh is £18 dearer a bottle than The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old.
Aberlour A'bunadh publishes no strength, so we will not cost it per litre of alcohol.
Flavour, compared
View as table
| Axis | Aberlour A'bunadh | The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old |
|---|---|---|
| Peaty | 0 | 0 |
| Sweet | 8 | 7 |
| Fruity | 7 | 6 |
| Spicy | 6 | 5 |
| Woody | 6 | 5 |
| Sherried | 9 | 9 |
| Cereal | 5 | 5 |
| Oily | 9 | 7 |
No axis reaches the 3-point gap we call meaningful. Widest is oily, 9 against 7.
Identical on peaty, sherried and cereal.
Each bottle in its own right
Aberlour A'bunadh
Enormous sherried fruit at cask strength. Batch to batch it moves, which is the point.
We publish no ABV because there isn't one: A'bunadh is released in sequential batches, each bottled at its own cask strength, and Aberlour states only 'cask strength' with no number. Any single ABV you see quoted for it is batch-specific. A'bunadh means 'the original' in Gaelic.
Full record →The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old
Christmas cake, walnut and dark chocolate. Full sherry maturation, not a finish.
Matured 'for at least 12 years' — an explicit minimum rather than a nominal age — exclusively in PX and Oloroso casks with no bourbon component at all.
Full record →No overlap in what we list them for: Aberlour A'bunadh for cask strength and sherry bombs, The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old for sherry-cask benchmark, after dinner and value at 43%.
Where these specifications come from
Producer and retailer pages for Aberlour A'bunadh and The GlenDronach Original 12 Year Old: aberlour.com, glendronachdistillery.com. Figures are what those pages published when we last checked them, on 2026-07-30.